top of page
Stay In The Know:

Best Drugstore Foundations for Women of Color

Next to eye shadow, foundation is something that I love makeup wise. I’m almost never satisfied with my foundation for long and I have to keep looking for the next best thing. I can’t afford any high end foundations just yet, but I’ve tried a lot of drug store foundations that work wonderfully for women of color even if you are a beauty on a budget.

Black Radiance Color Perfect Oil Free Liquid Makeup

I love this foundation so much! It has to be the best full coverage drugstore foundations that I’ve ever tried. It comes in any array of colors for darker skin that match our undertones perfectly. Being a woman of color, it’s sometimes hard to find drugstore foundations that cater to dark skin. Either they don’t have a dark enough shade or the undertones are off. This foundation is very full coverage, so be careful if you like a more natural look, and its oil free which means it’s great for oil slicks like myself.

  • I also love the Black Radiance powder foundation. It’s very lightweight and gives the perfect amount of coverage when I’m just running to the grocery store or running quick errands. However, it does give off a white cast during flash photography, so be careful.

BR Liquid.jpg

BR powders.JPG

Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse

This is a beautiful foundation for those women of color who just want a little more coverage than a powder can give and a little less than a full coverage foundation can give (medium coverage). It’s very lightweight and perfect for just going to class when you want to look a little more put together. It doesn’t come in very many dark shades, but its still a great foundation if you can find your shade.

Maybelline-Dream-Liquid-Mousse.jpg

CoverGirl Queen Collection Natural Hue Liquid Foundation

This foundation is specifically targeted towards women of color just like the Black Radiance foundations. However, it is also a great foundation for Hispanics and Asians. This is Queen Latifah’s line of foundations and they have many shades that work for every undertone of dark skin. It has a medium coverage that can be built up to a full coverage look.

covergirl.jpg

L’Oreal True Match Foundation

This is the only foundation on this list that I haven’t tried, but I’ve great things about it. It has a huge shade range and separates each shade into different undertones. It’s a great lightweight foundation that “feels like lotion” when applied. It gives a very natural finish and makes it look like you’re not wearing foundation at all. This will probably be the next drugstore foundation I’ll try when I get bored with my Black Radiance and Maybelline foundations.

loreal_true_match_makeup.jpg


bottom of page